top of page
Search

Five Fabulously Funny Picture Books

Updated: Mar 12

Five funny picture books:


Five kids laughing
















Kids love funny books, so here’s my selection of some of the best funny picture books out there.


Cover of This Book is Perfect picture book











Finn is not like most frogs. Finn likes things clean— perfectly clean. His book is immaculate. It’s amazing. It’s PERFECT. (Well, according to him) When an oopy, goopy mess starts creeping its way onto his pages, Finn is determined to fix it. But not all messes can be fixed. And not all messes should be fixed. Can Finn learn to live with the fact that his book will never be the same? Join in on a fun and interactive story the whole family will enjoy! With beautiful illustrations by Arthur Lin, This Book is Perfect! is a great gift for fans of Elephant & Piggie Books by Mo Willems and Don’t Push the Button! by Bill Cotter. Best for children ages 3-7.



Cover of Mom's Not Wipin Your Bum picture book















In Mom's Not Wipin' Your Bum, Zeke's mom teaches him all about potty training. Starting with learning how to wipe his bum, Zeke is trying to learn how to do things all by himself. But he still needs his mom to give him helpful tips along the way. Potty training doesn't have to be scary! Just like Zeke, children can learn to do things for themselves that are age and ability appropriate. When kids show interest in potty training, both parents and kids will be ready to leap forward with a positive attitude! Mom's Not® books are an important tool in the family toolkit to raise happy and well-rounded kids. Mom's Not Wipin' Your Bum will entertain children through joyful storytelling and help them easily digest the message of "you can do it yourself!". Plus, parents will appreciate the tongue-in-cheek humor sprinkled throughout.



Cover of The Mighty McKraken picture book













Captain Coarsebeard is the most feared pirate on the seven seas. He fears nothing... that is except the mighty McKraken. Mrs. McKraken is the captain's first grade teacher, and she's heard he's been naughty. Captain Coarsebeard hasn't been using good manners, and it's up to her to reteach him everything she taught him in first grade. Will the captain treat others the way he wants to be treated? Will he earn a gold star and be a star student? Soon the captain learns that good manners are as good as gold!



Cover of I Say Ooh You Say Aah picture book













'There's something very important that I need you to remember. When I say Ooh, you say Aah. Let's try it.' Ooh the donkey has lost his pants. Readers must help him find them! In this picture book, young readers help to sell the story by responding to simple verbal or visual cues. This hilarious book is perfect for reading aloud and is fun for the whole family.



Cover of My Parents Won't Stop Talking picture book














A child's plans are ruined when her parents have the gall to stop to talk to the neighbours in My Parents Won't Stop Talking!, a laugh-out-loud picture book about patience.

It's time to go to the park, and Molly can't wait! It's going to be awesome and amazing and--

OH NO!

The neighbours have spotted her moms, and now they're talking. A lot. And everything they say is boring. Minutes feel like hours, hours feel like days, and days feel like eons . . .

Will her parents ever stop talking?!


Oh yes, there’s one more! Can’t leave my own book off the list.


Cover of Baby Worries picture book













Winner of the 2022 Wishing Shelf Book Awards for Picture Books for ages 6-8 years. This funny, imaginative picture book celebrates the love, humour and banter that ensues when families get together. After all, who can resist the temptation to say, ‘He has your eyes’, or ‘I wonder if he’ll look like me?’

The baby meets his extended family for the first time and starts to imagine what he might look like when he grows up. Will he grow huge, bushy eyebrows like Uncle Max? Perhaps he'll have the wild, uncontrollable hair of Cousin Fern? Or maybe he'll have...well, you get the idea. This picture book is sure to get everyone, young and old, giggling and laughing together – especially at the end where there is an added twist to the tale! With its light-hearted approach, it’s the perfect discussion starter for exploring a child’s own feelings and emotions.


Comments